Pantgirl's Blog

The ponderings and boring life of a Scottish Vet

On call…

Posted by pantgirl on September 4, 2010

I’m on call again this weekend so obviously I get bored and decide to make a blog post!  I do need to do this more often but it’s been a hectic week or two with quite a few strange and unexpected operations in (3 surprise exlaps!) plus all last weekend I was in Aberdeen at the Lonach Highland Games in Strathdon.  The day was a bit drizzly but generally it was all good.  Smelling Whisky at 9am is never a good thing!

The three surprise exlaps (exploratory laparotomies, basically open up the abdomen and see what’s going on) were all completely different things.  Firstly was a Staffie with a gastric foreign body (chew toy), second was an older Staffie with an intestinal tumour (poss lymphoma, not good prospects longterm) and lastly was a young German Shepherd with an intussuception (where part of the intestine telescopes in on itself – only happens in young dogs and also in young humans as well!).   So all in it’s been a bit mental.

I’ve started knitting my first ever jumper, Owls by Kate Davies.  The only thing is my circular needles are too long at 80cm just now so I need to get a 6.5mm 60cm circular which I should have soon as I want to get going!  As I couldn’t get going on the jumper due to needle problems, I started on my first ever hat, Estella by Ysolda Teague which is going well so far!  I got a bit confused at the beginning of the lace round but i’ve got it in my head now so it’s all going well!  The only thing is I think the hat is going to be well small for me :/  I’m hoping I can remedy this when I block it or else find someone with a smaller noggin than me to gift it to!  It possibly is the yarn i’m using but I should’ve swatched before (I never do really…I should but I didn’t have much yarn left to waste on a swatch first!) but you live and learn!

In other exciting news my boss and I are off to the London Vet Show at the end of next month (ooh err). I’m rather excited, mainly as it’s my first ever Veterinary convention!  Yay!  I am quite sad.  ALSO my boss is paying for the flights and accommodation, yus. I’m in charge of finding it though so have found cheap flights with BMI and possibly a nice/cheap hotel. Fingers crossed will all be booked next week!  I also have almost 3 weeks holiday left to take this year so the boyf and I are probably heading off for some winter sun in November and then i’ll take the rest off for my mums 60th Birthday right at the beginning of December.  Quite exciting really!  SO much planned for the next few months!

We’ve also started a wee health kick and so far i’ve lost around 1kg this week (according to my work scales…).  My fave meal that I made before the health kick (as its prob DEAD fatty) was Chorizo and Broad Bean stew that I made with veg from our veg box delivery.  It was very very yummy.  Kinda invented the recipe myself and i’m pretty proud of it 🙂

That’s all so far.  I’m quite miffed at missing 4 things this weekend when i’m on call (2 gigs, friends birthday night out and friends baby’s christening) but hey ho, these things happen 😦

Leave a Reply

 
