Pantgirl's Blog

The ponderings and boring life of a Scottish Vet

Craft Swaps

Posted by pantgirl on April 18, 2010

I received my Pincushion swap the other day which was AMAZING!  I also sent mine so until my recipient gets mine I shan’t reveal anything! I don’t know how long it’s going to take for her to get it due to this madness with the Volcano and Airmail now becoming snailmail.  I also forgot to put a wee note in it saying what everything was…I am sure one item she’ll have NO idea about so when you get it, ask me!

On other news i’m on call this weekend.  Hate it.  I hate being on edge all the time and even when i’m not on edge and begin to relax, I remember i’m on call and get on edge again!  One of my bosses covered my on call last night for a few hours so that I could go to the Amanda Palmer/Evelyn Evelyn show in Oran Mor in Glasgow West End.  Amanda had a heck of a time getting over and she was actually IN Iceland when the whole Volcano thing was happening and got on one of the last flights to Glasgow for the gig! Sadly the rest of her crew and the set and EVERYTHING was stuck in America which was a real shame as they had planned a theatrical evening around a theme but Amanda pulled it off with style and the internet saving the day with a Skype-ing Jason Webley In Boston helping with harmonies etc.  The whole event was really surreal and very entertaining.  I’m a wee bit gutted I didn’t get to see the show how they intended for it to be but hey ho, these things happen.  I also got this bag from the show which is pretty neat.

My other craft swap, the Feline Swap is coming along well.  My hands are sore from all the crafting!  Hopefully will get the majority finished today and then sent asap!  It’s annoying being on call as it means I’m stuck in and around Falkirk and can’t go into Glasgow or Edinburgh to get things for the swap so it’ll prob be sent away a wee bit late :\

In other news, my mum and sister are stuck in Perth, Australia for the forseeable future due to the aforementioned Volcano of doom. They were meant to be flying Perth-Dubai, Dubai-Glasgow but they got turned away at the airport in Perth for the Dubai flight.  Emirates aren’t flying anywhere til Monday but even then I don’t think they’ll be back til next weekend.  Mum is supposed to be at work on Monday morning and Mhairi is supposed to be playing for the RSNO in Glasgow on Thursday, either of which is NOT happening.  At least they are staying at a friend’s house rather than in a hotel so they are not spending that much more money luckily but it’s still annoying.  I did Skype her for the first time the other day on my iPhone app and that was all good.  News over there is a bit pish and I was telling them more info than they knew.  Oh well!

One Response to “Craft Swaps”

  1. Diane said

    Glad to hear the pincushion arrived safely! Looking at the Flickr group I was worried that you’d be disappointed with what you got, so I’m happy that you’re happy 🙂
    Looking forward to getting mine too, once the planes start flying…

Leave a Reply

 
